507-288-2447
Klampe Law Firm
Southern Minnesota’s injury law firm Serving the Community Since 1972
We are working to avoid disruptions caused by COVID-19 coronavirus, while at the same time acting responsibly to do what we can to prevent further spread of the virus. In order to do so, we are reluctant to accept walk-in visitors and ask that you please call 507-288-2447 for an appointment as our doors will remain locked. For your safety and ours, we are conducting as many appointments as possible by phone or electronic methods. If it is necessary for you to be at our office, we request that all visitors wear a mask and take necessary precautions. We will continue to closely monitor and assess the evolving situation.

When must you report your work injury?

Suffering an injury on the job can leave you facing an incredible amount of physical, emotional and financial stress. 

Thankfully, workers' compensation can help you and your family deal with some of that stress. 

There are deadlines to report your injury

Reporting your injury to your employer immediately is an important step to obtaining compensation. If you wait, you face an increased risk of a denied claim. 

That is why you must be aware of the deadlines you have to report your injuries. According to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry:

  • If workers report their injury to their employer within 14 days of the injury, the report is on time.
  • If workers do not report their injury until between 15 and 30 days after the injury, their employer could potentially deny their claim under certain circumstances, namely if the delay impacts the claim itself.

Of course, there are valid reasons for a delayed report, and, therefore, there are a few exceptions to these deadlines. These include:

  • If the employer misrepresented a worker’s rights or the requirements of reporting to them
  • If workers were unable to report their injury due to incapacity

Even with these exceptions, you should still report your injury as soon as possible to reduce the risk of your claim being denied.

What should the report include?

Not only must the report be timely, but it must also include specific details for you to recover compensation. For example, you should be sure to include:

  • Your name and contact information
  • Details about the accident, including the date and time it occurred, how it happened and where it happened
  • The injuries resulting from the accident and all symptoms you are experiencing

Your employer needs this information to file the first report of injury with the workers’ compensation commissioner. 

Dealing with workers’ compensation paperwork can be stressful. If you have been injured on the job, it is beneficial to seek guidance from an experienced workers’ compensation attorney who knows how to protect your rights and navigate this process.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

request Your Initial Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Klampe, Delehanty, Pasternak & Niesen, LLC 975 34th Ave NW, Suite 400 Rochester, MN 55901 | Phone: 507-288-2447 | Fax: 507-288-4412 | Rochester Law Office Map

Normal Business hours:
8:30am – 5:00pm Monday – Friday
Holidays may affect these hours.

  • North Star